* Shelley Olson’s A Chanukah Cantata
CD available through the Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts Gift Shop – concourse, 135 W 65 St., concourse, NYC, NY 10023 (917) 441-1197
* Anne Kilstofte’s works recorded by the National Lutheran Choir, The Dale
Warland Singers, and also the Estonian Camerata: “Children of Peace,” “Holy, This Night,” “Christmas Tidings,” and “Oh, Hush Thee” ( http://www.clarionrecords.com/other/ 3_nlc_182.html).
* The New York Concert Singers. A Season’s Promise. New World Records Jennifer Higdon: “Deep in The Night.”
* Handel and Haydn Society Chorus. All Is Bright. Jennifer Higdon: “O Magnum Mysterium.”
* Emory Symphonic Winds. In the World of Spirits. Naxos Jennifer Higdon: “Mysterium.”
* Sarah Meneely-Kyder. A Garland of Hymns and Carols
The CD is a compilation of 21 pieces based on the interior text of seasonal or Christmas cards for which her husband designed the front graphic. The CDs are $15.00. Copies can be requested directly at either smeneelykyde@wesleyan.edu, or [email protected].
* Carol Comune. Season of the Light
Charles Lewis, trumpet; Valerie Saalbach, soprano; Carol Comune, piano. Please visit CDBaby, broadjam.com, or carolcomune.com to listen to excerpts, digitally download music and/or post a review. CD Baby: CAROL COMUNE: Season of the Light: A Collection of Advent and Christmas Carols.
* Carla Bley’s album, Carla’s Christmas Carols
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=npr-5-20/104-7144984-1010305?platform=gurupa&url=index %3Db lended&keywords=Carla%27s+Christmas+Carols). The All Things Considered story is at http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=121576830.
* Gena Branscombe’s “Hail Ye Tyme of Holiedayes,” sung by mezzosoprano Kathleen Shimeta on her CD Ah! Love, I Shall Find Thee: Songs of Gena Branscombe, Albany-Troy 599, available at www.kathleenshimeta.com.
* The Newstead Trio’s CD Music For The Season includes arrangements by Adrienne Albert, Tina Davidson, and others. They include “Deck The Halls,” “Do You Hear What I Hear?”, “The Cherry Tree Carol,” and Adrienne Albert’s original tune, “Upside Down Wish List.” Please see http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/newsteadtrio5.
* Sophie-Carmen Eckhardt-Gramatté’s Vier Weihnachtslieder/Four Christmas Songs on SCEG 100: A Centenary Celebration, available from the Eckhardt-Gramatté Foundation www.egre.mb.ca). These are short songs for choir and instrumental ensemble that capture the mood of the holiday season in a northern climate.
* Judith Zaimont’s Meditations At the Time of the New Year (a two-movement work for chorus and percussion) on Radiance–Choral Music by Judith Lang Zaimont, recorded by Choral Society of Southern California, Nick Strimple, conducting, on 4-Tay CD 4015 (available at Amazon.com); also available on Naxos (NAXOS CD Naxos 8.55944).
* Judith Shatin’s Hanukkah round, “Nun, Gimel, Hei, Shin” ) http://www.naxos.com/catalogue/ item.asp?item_code=8.559410).
* Emma Lou Diemer’s “Holiday Madness Medley” on the album GOING AWAY on the TrueTone Productions label, 2013 ( http://www.amazon.com/Going-Away-Violin-Works-Diemer/dp/ B00HWSE8FQ).
Holidays of the New Era, ERMMedia
Kiev Philharmonic and Chamber Choir KYIV
Pamela J. Marshall: “Windshine”
Mona Lyn Reese: “Toboggan”
JoAnne Wagner: “The Miracle Carol”
Evelyn Stroobach: “O Come, O Come, Emmanuel”
Margaret Meachem: “Lift Then Eyes Unto the Mountains”
Mavis Pan: “A Christmas Carol”
Margaret Collins Stoop: “The Shepherd and the Night Sky”
Deeann Mathews: “A Modern Christmas Carol”
available from Naxos Direct http://naxosdirect.com/items/holidays-of-the-new-era-248381
* Evelyn Stroobach’s “O Come, O Come, Emmanuel,” for SATB chorus and violoncello, Masterworks of the New Era CD label (http://www.musiccentre.ca/node/37796/biography)
* Clare Shore’s Three A Cappella Carols (“Joy to the World, “Silent Night,”and “Good King Wenceslas.”) Philovox Ensemble of Boston; Jennifer Lester, director ( http:// clareshore.com/3carols.htm).
* Rebecca Oswald’s “The Rhythm of Snow” on her CD October Wind. ( http://smarturl.it/ octoberwind and a YouTube link, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qwq-J_5Yzq).
* Jennifer Higdon’s “Love Came Down” for soprano, harp, and choir, on Holiday Harmonies (Sono Luminus), http://www.sonoluminus.com/p-403-holiday-harmonies.aspx.
* Elizabeth Start’s CD, A Very Cello Christmas, arrangements performed by the arranger, available at [email protected]: “In the Bleak Midwinter,” “O Little Town of Bethlehem,” “Good King Winceslaus,” “Once in Royal David’s City”/“Coventry Carol,” “Angels Fantasy,” “Three Ships and Three Kings,” “Aways in the Mangers,” “Lo How a Rose,” Joy to the World,” “Simple Gifts,” and “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”
* From the 5th track (“Byzantine”) of Lydia Kakabadse’s album Ithaka (released by Divine Art), her arrangement of “Hymn to the Defender of Mother of God” (Akathistos Hymn) and “The Kontakion on the Nativity of Christ,” both sung in Greek (http://lydiakakabadse.com/wp/ discography/ithaka/).
* Elizabeth Start’s “Good King Wenceslas,” “Three Ships and Three Kings,” “Lo How a Rose,” and “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” are also included on the CD Dashing 2 released by PARMA Recordings, as is “Christmas Wayfarer” by composer Sarah Wallin Huff (https://www.navonarecords.com/catalog/nv6374/ and https://bit.ly/DASHING2).


Updated on Nov. 28, 2021.