International Alliance for Women in Music


IAWM Awards are to recognize excellence, dedication, and other contributions that encourage, support, and bring attention to superior musicianship.

Pauline Alderman Awards

The Pauline Alderman Awards were founded in 1985 by the International Congress on Women in Music to honor the memory of pioneering musicologist Pauline Alderman, Ph.D. (1893-1983), founder and chair of the Music History Department of the University of Southern California. 

Programming Awards

This new IAWM award is to honor and endorse those performers who have made deliberate, conscious efforts to achieve greater gender equity in their programming by including women composers and/or performers. Soloists, chamber ensembles, and arts organizations.