International Alliance for Women in Music

37th IAWM Search for New Music Competition Winners


Winners of the IAWM 2018 Search for New Music Competition


The International Alliance for Women in Music (IAWM) has selected winners of its 2018 Search for New Music Competition. The competition recognizes the accomplishments of IAWM member composers and fosters IAWM’s goal of increasing awareness of the musical contributions of women. IAWM hopes that performers around the world will see this music as a resource for their own concert programming. There were 89 submissions from 14 countries around the world.


Winners in the various categories are:


2018 Christine Clark/Theodore Front Prize ( $500) sponsored by Christine Clark of Theodore FrontMusical Literature, Inc., to a composer who is at least 22 years old for a chamber or orchestral work.


Winner: Caroline Ahn for “Summer Sketches” for orchestra



2018 Miriam Gideon Prize ($500) sponsoredby Lucille Field Goodman,to a composer at least 50 yearsof age for a work for solo voice & 1-5 instruments.

Winner: Dana Maiben for “The Green House” for Contralto, wind-chimes, flute, bassoon,viola, piano.


2018 Libby Larsen Prize ($300), sponsored by Libby Larsen, to a composer who is currently enrolled inschool for a work in any medium.

Winner: Lydia Dempsey for “Pas de Deux” for Oboe and Piano


2018 PDX Prize ($300) for a Jazz compositions of any duration for small ensemble to big band (4-17instruments)


Winner: Migiwa Miyajima for “Colorful” for Big Band.


2018 PatsyLu Prize ($500),sponsored by Patsy Rogers and Lucille Field Goodman,for classical artmusic in any form by black women and/or lesbians.


Winner: Lauren McCall for “A Spark and a Glimmer” for Violin, Cello and Piano.


2018 Alex Shapiro Prize ( $500 and mentorship/consultation from Alex Shapiro), sponsored by AlexShapiro, for a work of any duration for large ensemble wind band requiring a conductor, with or without soloist, acoustic or electroacoustic, published or as yet unpublished. Additional Honorary Mention Prize ($100).


Winner: Janice Macaulay for “Kaleidoscope” for Wind Symphony


Honorary Mention: Celka Ojakangas for “Bonehead Fizzix” for Wind Ensemble.


2018 Judith Lang Zaimont Prize ($400) sponsored by Judith Lang Zaimont, for an extended instrumentalcomposition—large solo or chamber works—by a composer at least 30 years old whose music has not yet been recorded or published.


Winner: Yiheng Yvonne Wu for “Dreams of a Young Piano ” for solo piano, twopercussionists, and ensemble


The PDX Prize was judged by Alan Baylock and Ayn Inserto. The judges for the other prizes were


Dr. Jennifer Jolley, Dr. Amelia Kaplan and Dr. Seunghee Chrissy Lee. Dr. Ingrid Stölzel served as chair of the competition.


Biographies for the 2018 Prize Winners:


Clark/Front Prize winner: Caroline Ahn has been writing music that is deeply inspired by the natural world. Her music is described as 'entirely delicate and lyrical' yet has strong power that grabs audience's attention. Her recent style shows a more minimalistic approach to composing but still greatly focuses on timbre using a lot of repeating and perpetuating motions. Her achievements are being chosen in the Miami (FL) selection for New Music Days, Excellence in Composition prize at the IBCF (International Brass Chamber Music Festival, KY), an honorable mention by IAWM (International Alliance for Women in Music) for the Libby Larsen Prize, SCI, finalist for the prestigious Respighi Composition Competitions of 2014 season. Caroline was also selected as one of the finalists of Sioux Symphony Orchestra as ‘Composer of the Year’ in 2014. Caroline won the Donghak Civil War theme song competition in Korea in the same year. Born in Seoul, Korea, Caroline KyungA Ahn holds degrees from Yonsei University (BM in composition), Eastman School of Music (MM and MA in composition and pedagogy of theory) and Indiana University (DM in composition). Her compositions include orchestral, chamber, and theatrical works that have been widely performed in South Korea, the United States, Europe and South America. She is currently an Assistant Professor of Music at Anderson University where she teaches composition and music theory. She also serves as a chair for Opus Composition Festival and Commissioned Composer of IMTA and a president of non - profit organization, Sound of Hope.




Gideon Prize winner: Composer, conductor, medieval fiddler, violinist and violist Dana Maiben, winner of the 2018 Miriam Gideon Prize, is a Resident Scholar of the Women’s Studies Research Center of Brandeis University, where The Green House was premiered in 2013. Her compositions include a chamber opera, Look and Long, based on the play by Gertrude Stein, instrumental chamber music, and music for dance and theater, for solo voice(s) and instrument(s), and for a capella voices. Maiben holds degrees from Smith College and the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, and counts medievalist Thomas Binkley, violinist Jaap Schroeder, choreographer Paula Josa Jones, and composers Ron Perera and Lou Harrison as important mentors. Hailed by the Boston Globe for her “supremely joyous artistry,” Maiben performs music from the 12th century to the 21st, conducts opera and oratorio, and has earned international recognition for her performances of 17th -century music. Her discography as a violinist includes sonatas by Francesca Danzi Lebrun (Dorian) and Elisabeth Jacquet de la Guerre (forthcoming). Maiben teaches at the Longy School of Music of Bard College in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

It appears your Web browser is not configured to display PDF files. Download adobe Acrobat or click here to download the PDF file.

Click here to download the PDF file.