Search for New Music Guidelines

34th IAWM Search for New Music by Women Composers

2015 Competition Guidelines

Receipt deadline: May 15, 2015

Download PDF file


Ruth Anderson Commission Prize ($1,000) 
 Commission for a new sound installation with electro-acoustic music
To apply, submit a detailed proposal of the sound installation. The project must be completed within 12 months of notification of the award. The winner will receive the award money after submitting a report to IAWM following the public showing of the completed installation. Location of the installation may be, but is not restricted to, an IAWM annual concert or congress.

Theodore Front Prize ($300) 
(minimum age – twenty-two)  Large chamber and orchestral works
. Sponsored by Theodore Front Musical Literature, Inc.

Miriam Gideon Prize ($500)
 (minimum age – fifty) 
Works for solo voice and one to five instruments

Sylvia Glickman Memorial Prize ($500) 
(minimum age – forty)
  Works for piano trio or quartet, or any combination of 4 instruments drawing from woodwinds, strings, and piano. The work must be unpublished with no professional performance.
 Given by Harvey Glickman in memory of his wife and supported by the Hildegard Institute.

Libby Larsen Prize ($200) 
(must be currently enrolled in school)  
Works for any medium

Pauline Oliveros New Genre Prize ($300)
 Works for electro-acoustic media or  incorporating innovative form or style, such as improvisation, multimedia, use of non-traditional notation. If no score is used, a description of the work and its structure must accompany the audio or video submission.

PatsyLu Prize ($500) 
(for Black women and/or lesbians)
  Classical art music in any form or instrumentation

Judith Lang Zaimont Prize ($400) 
(minimum age – thirty)
  Extended instrumental compositions—large solo or chamber works—by a composer whose music has not yet been commercially recorded or published

Each prize category has its own monetary award as indicated. The categories have changed. If you have previously submitted in the Zwilich category for ages 21 and under, and you are currently a student, please submit in the Larsen category.



One entry   A composer may submit only one piece in any given year in only one chosen category. Please do not send more than one composition total.

Membership    Current membership in IAWM is required for submission. If your membership is not current at time of submission, the work will be disqualified. Please note that membership is for the calendar year: January 1-December 31, and you may need to renew for 2015.  See the IAWM membership page for more information.

Anonymity   Submissions must be anonymous. Your name must not appear on the score, recording, in the metadata of your file, or any other documentation. Submissions with names on them will be automatically disqualified.

Unpublished works   The work submitted must be unpublished by a major publishing house and must have won no prior awards at the time of entry in the competition. Self-published works are allowed. For the Zaimont Prize, the work must also have no plans to be professionally recorded when it is submitted. For the Glickman prize, the work must not have had a professional performance.

Restriction for previous winners   Winners of previous SNM Awards cannot apply for two years subsequent to their award (for 2015, this includes winners of the 2013and 2014 competitions). There is no restriction on submissions for those who received honorable mentions.


The submission period begins March 21, 2015.

Deadline for receipt of materials is May 15, 2015. (Submissions will not be closed until May 15 ends around the globe, if time zones have been calculated correctly.)

Winners will be announced by July 31, 2015. 
Winners will be asked to submit a short biography for inclusion in the press release, which will be sent out within 2 weeks of the announcement, by August 15, 2014.

The IAWM website will have a complete list of winners shortly after the announcement date.

Submission Procedure

Submit online at the EasyChair website.

If you do not already have an Easy Chair account, you will need to create one.

The name of the composer (author) submitted in the registration process will be shielded from the judges. Please make sure no identifying data is attached to the submitted files, other than the title of the piece.

File formats   Scores must be PDF files; audio files must be MP3; video can be Quicktime (MOV), AVI, MPG, or WMV.  You may create a ZIP file for multiple movements or sections of your work. Maximum file size is 50 megabytes. Please do not submit .WAV files.

  Additional file instructions Track information, especially composer or artist name, needs to be removed from your MP3 files. You can use iTunes or another mp3 player to edit the track information, also called metadata.

Large files   If your files are too large for a single submission, you may divide them into separate submissions (e.g., Part I, Part II; or Mvt1, Mvt2). Easy Chair will automatically link submissions by composer name, even though that portion remains shielded from the judges.

Submit your score or narrative as the EasyChair “paper”. If your piece does not have a traditional score, submit a description of the work. This must also be anonymous.

Submit your audio or video as the EasyChair “attachment”. Submitting audio or video is optional, but recommended.

SNM does not use the Keyword field but EasyChair requires it. For Keywords, type your category and two instrument names, or whatever you want (except your name).

Please Note

You must be a member of IAWM when the Coordinator receives your submission. For current members, remember that the membership year begins January 1. Please check that your dues are up-to-date for this year.

You do not need a pseudonym with the new EasyChair submission process. Make sure your materials do not have any identifying marks. Scores with names, copyright notices, or other identifying text will be disqualified.

If there is a problem with your submission the coordinator will try to let you know, but it is your responsibility to submit the appropriate material and have a current membership.

IAWM reserves the right to withhold an award, should the judging panel so recommend.


Send questions to the SNM Coordinator, Pamela Marshall, at