Pauline Alderman Award Submission Guidelines

Current Deadline: February 1st, 2015

Click here for a PDF Version

The International Alliance for Women in Music is pleased to announce the 2015 competition for the Pauline Alderman Awards for outstanding scholarship on women in music. Works published during the calendar years 2013 and 2014 will be considered for cash prizes in the following categories:

  1. An outstanding book-length monograph about women in music, including biography, history, analysis, and critical interpretation, in any academic format (e.g., book, dissertation, or thesis);
  2. An outstanding journal article or essay treating an aspect of women in music; and
  3. An outstanding bibliographic study, research tool, or reference work about women in music.

Any individual or organization may submit items for consideration by sending a letter of nomination with the nominated work, postmarked no later than February 1, 2015.  Send letters and publications to:

Reeves Shulstad, Co-Chair
Pauline Alderman Award Committee, IAWM
Hayes School of Music
813 Rivers Street
Boone, NC 28608

The letter of nomination should state the name, title, and complete contact information of the author(s) and a bibliographic citation including the title and publication data of the work nominated.  In the case of an article in an online journal, the letter of nomination may be e-mailed to, with “Pauline Alderman Awards Nomination” in the subject line.  The e-mail should include author’s information, as above, and the URL of the article.

Items will be evaluated for quality and significance of research, clarity, persuasiveness, and utility as a model for future scholarship.  Please include a postage-paid, self-addressed mailer if you wish to have your submission returned.

The Pauline Alderman Awards were founded in 1985 by the International Congress on Women in Music to honor the memory of pioneering musicologist Pauline Alderman, Ph.D. (1893-1983), founder and chair of the Music History Department of the University of Southern California.  Recipients of the Pauline Alderman Awards include some of the most distinguished names in feminist music scholarship (for a complete list of past award winners, click here).
For questions, contact Co-Chairs Dr. Elizabeth L. Keathley, or Dr. Reeves Shulstad,  Please use the subject line, “Pauline Alderman Awards.”