IAWM Congress Committee

Patricia Morehead, chair

Esther Fluckiger
Anne Kilstofte
Deon Nielsen Price
Ursula Rempel
Li Yiding

The International Congress for Women in Music (ICWM) was founded in 1979 by Jeannie Pool to form an organizational basis for women-in music conferences and meetings. The Congresses have become projects of the IAWM. The ICWM Newsletter was replaced by the ILWC Journal following the ICWM’s merger with the ILWC in 1990. The Library of the ICWM is now housed at the International Institute for the Study of Women in Music located at the California State University, Northridge. The collection includes books and recordings gathered by Aaron I. Cohen (editor of the International Encyclopedia of Women Composers ) as well as Congress members’ scores and tapes. For more information see the article, “International Congress on Women in Music (ICWM),” published in the June 1995 issue of the IAWM Journal.